Marc Lafleur – 2012-2013 NOJHL Coach of the Year

NOJHL Coach of the Year goes to Kirkland Lake’s Marc Lafleur – Junior Hockey News

Tweet This Published: Tuesday, 26 Mar 2013 By: NOJHL Media


SUDBURY - The Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League announced Tuesday that Marc Lafleur of the Kirkland Lake Gold Miners has been named the 2012-13 recipient of the Mirl ‘Red’ McCarthy Memorial Trophy, emblematic of the NOJHL’s coach of the year.   In his first campaign at the helm behind the Gold Miners bench, he led Kirkland Lake to a more than respectable 25-18-2-3 record along with a fourth place finish in the regular season standings.    His disciplined club also boasted a league-low 612 penalty minutes.   Lafleur was also earlier named a NOJHL first team all-star for his effort in guiding his club in their first full season in the league as the Gold Miners.   The 37-year-old Hearst product joined Kirkland Lake after spending the last two years as an assistant coach with Rouyn-Noranda of the Quebec Major Junior Hockey League.   All-time NOJHL Coach of the Year award recipients  

Marc Lafleur 2012-13 Kirkland Lake Gold Miners
Tom McCarthy 2011-12 North Bay Trappers
Bruno Bragagnolo 2010-11 Soo Eagles
Paul Gagne 2009-10 Abitibi Eskimos
Ian Swalucynski 2008-09 North Bay Skyhawks
Paul Gagne 2007-08 Abitibi Eskimos
Todd Stencill 2006-07 Blind River Beavers
Darryl Moxam 2005-06 Sudbury Northern Wolves
Toots Kovacs 2004-05 Soo Thunderbirds
Paul Gagne 2003-04 Abitibi Eskimos
Paul Gagne 2002-03 Abitibi Eskimos
Paul Gagne 2001-02 Iroquois Falls Jr. Eskies
Jim Capy 2000-01 Soo Thunderbirds
Ken MacKenzie 1999-2000 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Ron Guy 1998-99 Parry Sound Shamrocks
Ken MacKenzie 1997-98 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Ken MacKenzie 1996-97 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Jeff Brick 1995-96 Rayside Balfour Sabrecats
Kenn Sullivan 1994-95 Timmins Golden Bears
Guy Blanchard 1993-94 Powassan Hawks
Kenn Sullivan 1992-93 Timmins Golden Bears
Guy Blanchard 1991-92 Powassan Passports
Guy Blanchard 1990-91 Powassan Passports
Brian Smith 1989-90 Sudbury Cubs
Not Available 1988-89 N/A
Not Available 1987-88 N/A
Not Available 1986-87 N/A
Not Available 1985-86 N/A
Not Available 1984-85 N/A
Not Available 1983-84 N/A
Not Available 1982-83 N/A
Ken MacKenzie 1981-82 Onaping Falls Huskies
Richard Pagnutti 1980-81 Nickel Centre Native Sons
Pat Tremblay 1979-80 Onaping Falls Huskies
John Dediana 1978-79 Nickel Centre Native Sons
No League 1977-78 N/L
No League 1976-77 N/L
No League 1975-76 N/L
No League 1974-75 N/L
No League 1973-74 N/L
No League 1972-73 N/L
Ab Carricato 1971-72 Soo Greyhounds
Ab Carricato 1970-71 Soo Greyhounds
Marcel Clements 1969-70 Sudbury Wolves
Walter Dubas 1968-69 Soo Greyhounds
Walter Dubas 1967-68 Soo Greyhounds
Walter Dubas 1966-67 Soo Greyhounds
Red McCarthy 1965-66 Espanola Eagles
Howie Parker 1964-65 North Bay Trappers
Howie Parker 1963-64 North Bay Trappers
Red McCarthy 1962-63 Espanola Eagles