Final Top 20 Regular Season Rankings


Release Date: Monday, March 7, 2016

Final CJHL rankings for 2015-16 sees 4 NOJHL clubs tabbed

SUDBURY – As the Canadian Junior Hockey League announced their final Pointstreak Top 20 rankings for the 2015-16 season Monday, the Northern Ontario Junior Hockey League finished up well represented as four clubs garnered recognition.

In the final listings, which were compiled in conjunction with International Scouting Services, the NOJHL regular season title holding Soo Thunderbirds were slotted third in the 131-team CJHL.

Joining them were the Cochrane Crunch and Powassan Voodoos in 13th and 14th respectively while the Dudley-Hewitt Cup host Kirkland Lake Gold Miners earned honourable mention status.

Sault Ste. Marie, who holds the No. 1 seed in the upcoming NOJHL playoffs, currently sports a league-best 46-5-1-0 record, which is good for 93 points.

They also enter the postseason as the reigning NOJHL and Dudley-Hewitt Cup champions.

Cochrane meanwhile finished tied for top spot with Powassan in the NOJHL East with 84 points apiece, but the Crunch took the division crown by virtue of an extra point picked up in head-to-head play with the Voodoos.

As for Kirkland Lake, they have 79 points with a game to play and are facing a quarter-final showdown with Powassan starting next week.

Winners of 20 in succession, the defending RBC Cup national champion Portage Terriers (MJHL) were slotted No. 1 in the final CJHL rankings while the Penticton Vees (BCHL) were No. 2.

The following is the final Pointstreak CJHL top 20 rankings and five honourable mention teams for the 2015-16 season:

1. Portage Terriers (MJHL) (1)
2. Penticton Vees (BCHL) (2)
3. Soo Thunderbirds (NOJHL) (3)
4. Trenton Golden Hawks (OJHL) (4)
5. Fort Frances Lakers (SIJHL) (5)
6. Spruce Grove Saints (AJHL) (7)
7. Battlefords North Stars (SJHL) (6)
8. Brooks Bandits (AJHL) (8)
9. Steinbach Pistons (MJHL) (9)
10. Lloydminster Bobcats (AJHL) (10)
11. Winkler Flyers (MJHL) (12)
12. Whitecourt Wolverines (AJHL) (11)
13. Cochrane Crunch (NOJHL) (14)
14. Powassan Voodoos (NOJHL) (13)
15. Chilliwack Chiefs (BCHL) (15)
16. Sainte-Agathe Montagnards (QJHL) (16)
17. College Francais de Longeueil (QJHL) (17)
18. Melfort Mustangs (SJHL) (18)
19. Carleton Place Canadians (CCHL) (19)
20. Summerside Western Capitals (MHL) (NR)

Honourable Mention: Kirkland Lake Gold Miners (NOJHL); West Kelowna Warriors (BCHL); Bonnyville Pontiacs (AJHL); Georgetown Raiders (OJHL); Ottawa Jr. ‘A’ Senators (CCHL)